Home

About Us

IPM in Action

Grant Programs

Signature Programs

Partners in IPM

IPM Planning

State Links

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

Nebraska

North Dakota

Ohio

South Dakota

Wisconsin


Supported by:

Partners in IPM: Working Groups

The Food Narrative Project -- North Central Region

Project Director: Dr. Larry Gut, Michigan State University
Co-PD: Michael Rozyne, Red Tomato

The Food Narrative Project--North Central Region Working Group is part of a national collaboration among IPM scientists, NGOs including IPM Voice and Red Tomato, and social scientists at FrameWorks Institute. WG members advise and inform development of evidencebased framing strategies leading to a new food narrative that advances public understanding of IPM and other sustainable farming practices. The focus of this proposal is to engage significant participation of scientists, farm and food leaders from the North Central region as members and Communication Partners, who will inform and use the results in their own work.

Despite concerted efforts by IPM scientists and educators to explain IPM to policymakers and the public, IPM is often missing from the public narrative about farming practices and sustainable agriculture and the general public does not have a good understanding of the benefits of IPM. This is especially true in a communications environment that is frequently polarized and oversimplified, where complex issues are reduced to simplistic either/or choices.

Narratives and framing are powerful communication tools. Changing the narrative is a necessary part of, and often precedes, the change of a system, a policy, or practices. To reach more people more effectively, IPM practitioners and organizations need a sophisticated approach to communications that applies cognition science, linguistics and framing to food and agriculture. A more effective conversation--one that engages farmers and the public with land grant scientists, cooperative extension, and industry--can help expand adoption of IPM and a wide range of sustainable practices.

 

Working Group Membership List

Name

Affiliation

State

E-mail Address

Michael Rozyne

Red Tomato

MA

mrozyne@redtomato.org

Larry Gut

Department of Entomology, Michigan State University

MI

gut@msu.edu

David Epstein

Office of Pest Management Policy, USDA

DC

david.epstein@ars.usda.gov

Tom Green

IPM Institute of North America

WI

ipmworks@ipminstitute.org

Susan Futrell

Red Tomato

IA

sfutrell@redtomato.org

Jim Koan

Almar Orchards

MI

almarapple@aol.com

Carolyn Mugar

Farm Aid

MA

carolyn@farmaid.org

Glenda Yoder

Farm Aid

MA

glenda@farmaid.org

Julie Sweetland

Frameworks Institute

DC

jsweetland@frameworksinstitute.org

Jerry J. Baron

IR-4 Project

NJ

jbaron@njaes.rutgers.edu

Jim Farrar

University of California Statewide IPM Program

CA

jjfarrar@ucanr.edu

Anu Rangarajan

College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Cornell University

NY

ar47@cornell.edu

Samina Raja

Department of Urban & Regional Planning, University of Buffalo

NY

sraja@buffalo.edu

Katherine DiMatteo

Wolf, DiMatteo + Associates

MA

Katherine@dimatteoconsulting.com

Dave Oefinger

Texas Pest Management Assoc.

TX

doefinger@shallowriver.net

Brad Higbee

Trece, Inc

CA

bhigbee@trece.com

Keith Pitts

Marrone Bio Innovations

CA

kpitts@marronebio.com